‘Speak Out’ Challenge

14th May 2018

Epping Forest MP Eleanor Laing has praised the public speaking skills demonstrated by students who took part in the west Essex round of the 'Speak Out' Challenge.

Mrs Laing, who was among the judging panel, said: "The speeches were inspiring and articulate. It was a brilliant event."

More than 525 Year 10 students in west Essex’s state secondary schools received a one-day public speaking and communications training workshop when they were given the skills and the confidence to develop and deliver a competition speech on a topic that is important to them.

Fifteen students were at Epping St John’s School for the west Essex round.

The winner was 15-year-old Josh Tedeku, from Burnt Mill Academy, in Harlow, who received the top prize of a £100 gift certificate and a place in the Grand Final in July.

Josh impressed the judges with his speech entitled 'Three seconds' where he talked about how everyone should make an effort to help save our planet.

Second place went to Lewis Martin 15, from Epping St John’s School with a speech entitled 'Why football is more than the beautiful game.

Third place was awarded to Roding Valley High School student Florence New, 15, with a speech entitled “I’m not blind."

Epping Town Mayor councillor Nigel Avey, who presented the awards, said: “I certainly wish I had had this type of opportunity when I was at school as I think everybody, not just politicians or lawyers, should get the opportunity to develop these skills as it is enormously important in developing confidence and self esteem."

The 'Speak Out' Challenge, the world’s largest youth speaking event with more than 19,000 students in London and Essex taking part, is supported and funded by the Jack Petchey Foundation and designed and delivered by Speakers Trust, the UK’s leading public speaking charity.

'Speak Out' Challenge: Eleanor Laing MP with Josh Tedeku of Burnt Mill Academy
'Speak Out' Challenge west Essex round

Eleanor on Twitter

Constituency Map

View Epping Forest in a larger map

Your local Councillors

Enter your Postcode below for details of all your elected representatives: